Can a Website Still Bring Value?

I remember, some time ago, having a conversation about whether or not having a website really helped one’s career. “It’s not like you can interact with your prospective fans,” they communicated.

Well, for some time now, I have almost ignored my website. I’ve almost only concentrated on my Social Networks for spreading my name around, but that is all about to change. In a few days, my website is going to be re-branded and better than ever before. The goal: to stay relevant before the fans.

Through Social Media I can interact with the fans and perhaps create new ones. One might say this is enough, but I believe you still need your own website. My name is a dime a dozen and so being able to direct people (via business cards, flyers, postcards) to my website, I will be affording fans and potential fans the opportunity to find out more about me. Perhaps even, follow me. Thus leading them to connect with me using Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn Vimeo & YouTube, etc… and become better acquainted with me.

Technology has enabled us with the ability to connect with our fans in ways that the greats, of yesterday, could not. It offers so many gateway’s by which we can both connect to and be connected with… Not to take advantage of many of these gateways, I believe, would be unwise.

Of course, the website (alone) is not the the savior for a musician, but it is one of many tools that will help us… No Mechanic only uses one tool and neither should we. Even still, they have a tool box where their most used tools can be found in one place. Likewise, we need to have such a tool box, where all of our technological gateways can be found. A One-stop where our fans can connect with us and remain connected.

I am still, very much, just breaking the ice on this, but hope I can accomplish the very things discussed here. Well, what about you? What are you doing? Is it working for you? What are you looking to do differently?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

